Get a Library Card

The smartest card in your wallet is a library card. Get it. Use it. Discover the amazing resources available to you, for free, from your Library.

Full Access Library Card

  • Check out physical and digital materials/access to technology at the library
  • Photo ID required
  • Proof of address required
  • Receive wallet & keychain card in person

Digital Services Library Card

  • Access to digital materials online
  • Receive card number by email within 48-72 hours
  • May be converted to a full service card by showing photo ID and proof of address in person

Limited Digital Services Library Card

  • Access to digital materials online
  • California Residents from out of the area
  • Expires after 30 days
  • Receive card number by email within 48-72 hours

Temporary Library Card

  • Check out up to 3 physical items/access digital materials/use computers at the library
  • Photo ID required
  • Receive wallet & keychain card in person
Apply for a Library Card

Requirements to receive a Full Access Library Card

  • Government Issued Photo ID Examples: California Drivers License or ID, Consular Identification Card, Passport
  • Verification of Current Address Examples: Utility Bill postmarked within 30 days, lease/rental agreement, rent or PO Box receipt, current piece of mail addressed to applicant
  • Under 18 must have parent’s information and signature (may show student ID, California Driver’s License or state ID). For age 12 and under, parent or guardian must show ID.

The Promise you make when you Get a Library Card

  • I agree to be responsible for all materials borrowed with my (or my minor child’s) card, and for all fines incurred, including charges for late, lost, and damaged materials.
  • I understand that my library privileges may be suspended or revoked if I (or my minor child) don’t follow all Library Rules of Behavior.
  • When my minor child receives a library card, I give permission for him or her to to receive library privileges, and I understand that parents are encouraged to monitor their children’s library use.

Your PIN

  • Your personal Identification Number is the last four digits of the phone number on your library card account.

Lost Library Cards

  • If your library card is lost or stolen, please contact the library immediately, so we can prevent unauthorized use of your library card account.
  • There is no cost to replace your library card.

Loan Periods, Limits, Holds and Renewals

Library Materials are checked out for 21 Days unless otherwise noted.
Checkout Limits
cloudLibrary eBooks Limit of 25 per card
Hotspots & Home Connectivity Kits Limit of 1 per card
Library materials must be checked out within 7 library business days once available.
Physical books and materials Maximum of 35 holds per library card
cloudLibrary eBooks/eAudiobooks Maximum of 5 holds per library card
Must be checked out within 3 days once available
Hotspot and Home Connectivity Kits Maximum of 1 hold per library card
Must be checked out within 3 days once available
Most library materials may be renewed twice, unless there is a hold on the item.
Digital materials (cloudLibrary and Hoopla) cannot be renewed.
Hotspots and Home Connectivity Kits may not be renewed.

Expired Library Cards/Change of Information

  • Full Access Library cards expire every three years. If you receive email notifications, you will be notified 30 days before your library card expires. To renew your library card, please call (209) 558-7808 or your local branch and confirm your contact information.
  • If your name, address, phone number, or email address changes, please call the library at (209) 558-7808 or your local branch to update your information.


Physical Library materials may be returned to any Stanislaus County Library location.

A fine of 25¢ per day, per item is charged on overdue items.

If materials are overdue, one courtesy reminder will be sent by email or phone.

If you accumulate charges above $50, the library must suspend your checkout privileges until payment has been received.

Replacement Fees for Lost or Stolen Items

Retail Price $5 and under $5
Retail Price $5-10 $8
Retail Price $10-15 $12
Retail Price $15-20 $15
Retail Price $20-30 $23
Retail Price $30-40 $28
DVDs and Music CDs
Retail Price $20 and under $20
Retail Price over $20 List Price
Books on CD List Price

Other Items Replacement Fee Not to Exceed
Hotspot $100
Chromebook or Laptop $900
Computer Accessories $50
Musical Instruments $50
Instrument Accessories $25
Read to Me Kit Items $25
Other Equipment $300

Making a Payment

  • Payments can be made in person by cash, check or credit/debit card.
  • Payments can also be made online at or through the Stanislaus Library mobile app. Minimum transaction of $1 for online payments.
  • Please note: The library will not call and ask you to pay with a debit/credit card over the phone. Please do not give your credit card information to anyone who calls and claims to be from the library. If you have questions about fines, please call (209) 558-7808 during open hours: Monday 12–8 pm, Tuesday-Thursday 10 am–6 pm and Saturday 10 am–5 pm.

LINK+ is a free service which allows Stanislaus County Library customers to borrow books and media not available in our catalog from academic and public libraries in California and Nevada. LINK+ is a combined catalog of over 9 million unique items. More Information